“A Court of Thorns and Roses” Soon to Be a Major Motion Picture!

ACOTAR

This past week has been a boon for book lovers! First we learned that BBC was rebooting the His Dark Materials trilogy as a drama series. Next, news broke about the rights for the Samuel Johnson trilogy being optioned. Today, Deadline is reporting that Sarah J. Maas’s popular YA novel A Court of Thorns and Roses will also be headed to the big screen! According to Deadline, Jo Bamford’s and Piers Tempest’s Tempo Productions have optioned the novel.

A Court of Thorns and Roses is a sort of retelling of the story of Beauty and the Beast. From Sarah J. Maas’s official site:

When nineteen-year-old huntress Feyre kills a wolf in the woods, a beast-like creature arrives to demand retribution for it. Dragged to a treacherous magical land she only knows about from legends, Feyre discovers that her captor is not an animal, but Tamlin—one of the lethal, immortal faeries who once ruled their world.

As she dwells on his estate, her feelings for Tamlin transform from icy hostility into a fiery passion that burns through every lie and warning she’s been told about the beautiful, dangerous world of the Fae. But an ancient, wicked shadow over the faerie lands is growing, and Feyre must find a way to stop it…or doom Tamlin—and his world—forever.

Perfect for fans of Kristen Cashore and George R. R. Martin, this first book in a sexy and action-packed new series is impossible to put down!

I haven’t yet read A Court of Thorns and Roses because I am still making my way through Maas’s Throne of Glass series, but I am nonetheless supremely excited about this news! I recently attended an event with Maas, and she was extremely personable and just a delight to listen to. (She talked about being a crazy person who cries at everything, so at the signing afterward, I shared my story of how I’m not longer allowed to watch The Land Before Time because I basically sob through the entire movie.)

Everyone should be excited for this news, because we need more YA novels adapted into films, and we need this to happen because quite a lot of the YA market is full of novels about girls. And we always need more movies about girls. I know these kinds of stories aren’t for everyone, but I think it’s important to support these films even if they aren’t your cup of tea (not necessarily monetarily, but really in any way you can). After all, Hollywood still seems to think that a) women don’t go to the movies and b) movies about women don’t make money. So it’s incredibly vital to prove them wrong. Otherwise, things will never change.

I must say, this news means I have to both finish the Throne of Glass novels sooner rather than later and bump A Court of Thorns and Roses higher up on the “to be read” pile.

What about you guys? What do you think of this news? Who are you hoping will be cast in the film? Let us know in the comments!

Author: Jamie Sugah

Jamie has a BA in English with a focus in creative writing from THE Ohio State University. She self-published her first novel, The Perils of Long Hair on a Windy Day, is available through Amazon. She is currently an archivist and lives in New York City with her demon ninja vampire cat. She covers television, books, movies, anime, and conventions in the NYC area.



Read our policies before commenting.
Please do not copy our content in whole to other websites. Linkbacks are encouraged.