Punk Rock Horror Series “Black’s Myth” Will Debut This July

Black's Myth comic book cover
Black’s Myth variant cover from artist Jamal Igle (Image: PR)

Fans wanting a twist in the mystery/horror genre can look forward to AHOY Comics releasing the first issue of Black’s Myth come July 7, 2021. 

The upcoming Black’s Myth comic book series has been written by Eric Palicki (Atlantis Wasn’t Built For Tourists, No Angel) with art by Wendell Cavalcanti (BlackAcre). Sarah Litt is serving as the editor. What’s interesting about this series is that the lead private investigator is a werewolf. I am intrigued!

Being marketed as a punk rock black-and-white horror series, it will feature covers by rising star Liana Kangas (She Said Destroy, Trve Cvlt). The first issue will feature a variant cover by Jamal Igle (The Wrong Earth). 

The official description reads:

Meet Janie Jones “Strummer” Mercado—just an ordinary werewolf PI, trying to make it on the mean streets of Los Angeles. When the case of a lifetime falls into her lap, it’s up to her and her charming djinn assistant Ben Si’lat to figure out just how many silver bullets have been used, and just where do silver bullets come from anyway? BLACK’S MYTH mixes familiar noir detective tropes with urban fantasy world-building as it explores the “supernatural underground” thriving in Los Angeles.

Palicki shared, “Like all the best punk rock narratives, Black’s Myth is about outcasts finding each other and accepting their place in the world.” He added, “In its own subtle way, it’s about being part of the comics community.”

Working with the team has been great,” said Cavalcanti. “I’m given a lot of room to create the world of Black’s Myth, and the input I receive from Eric and Sarah perfects it. We all work really well together to make a unique book.”

Black's Myth comic book july release
The regular issue #1 cover from artist Liana Kangas (Image: PR)

According to AHOY Editor-in-Chief Tom Peyer, Black’s Myth is recommended for fans of Edgar Alan Poe’s Snifter of Blood and Ash & Thorn.

I have enjoyed reviewing both titles. So, I have high hopes for Black’s Myth.

The first issue will cost you $3.99. Similar to all titles from AHOY Comics, it will contain extra prose stories and illustrations. 

You can follow AHOY Comics on Twitter, Facebook, and Instagram.

While we’re talking about comics, you can read my weekly comic book reviews here.

Feel free to share your thoughts with us.

(via press release)

Author: Farid-ul-Haq

Farid has a Double Masters in Psychology and Biotechnology as well as an M.Phil in Molecular Genetics. He is the author of numerous books including Missing in Somerville, and The Game Master of Somerville. He gives us insight into comics, books, TV shows, anime/manga, video games, and movies.


-

Read our policies before commenting.
Do not copy our content in whole to other websites. Linkbacks are encouraged.
Copyright © The Geekiary


1 thought on “Punk Rock Horror Series “Black’s Myth” Will Debut This July

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.