Comic Book Reviews (Week 10/30/2019): Excalibur Issue 1, Black Panther Issue 17, and More!

Black Panther Issue 17 Review

Black Panther Issue 17 (Image: Marvel Comics)

Hey, all! Welcome to my comic book review roundup for this week (10/30/2019). I’ll be going over all of the titles I’ve read. My review list includes Excalibur Issue 1, Black Panther Issue 17, DCeased Issue 6, and a lot more. So let’s begin!

I’m going to begin with Black Panther Issue 17. I’m a fan of what writer Ta-Nehisi Coates has been doing with Storm. This week’s issue focused on Ororo’s feelings for T’Challa, and it understandably got the fandom talking. I can see how her interaction with Nakia came across as Ororo giving Nakia permission to see if she can begin a romantic relationship with T’Challa. It was a very weird interaction, in my opinion. But it also made sense considering everything Ororo has on her plate right now. Yes, she’s part of the Wakandan Gods. However, she also has certain duties to fulfill in the mutant side of her world.

Black Panther Issue 17 Review

Ororo and Nakia in Black Panther Issue 17 (Image: Marvel Comics)

I’m very interested in knowing what T’Challa has to say about the conversation Ororo and Nakia had. I’m also looking forward to seeing how the relationship between Ororo and T’Challa changes because of Krakoa’s existence.

Recommendation: Check it out if you’re a fan of Storm and want to learn more about her Godhead.

DCeased Issue 6 Review

DCeased Issue 6 (Image: DC Comics)

DCeased Issue 6

I haven’t been a fan of this 6-part story from writer Tom Taylor, but I have to say I enjoyed reading the finale. You can think of it as DC Comics’ answer to Marvel Zombies. The finale featured Wonder Woman making a freaking kryptonite sword to take down an infected Superman. We also got some answers about the virus. The doors are open for some other writer to continue this horror story. I really wouldn’t mind an animated adaptation.

Recommendation: The pencils by Trevor Hairsine work well to depict all of the gore. Even if you don’t read the entire thing, do read the final issue.

Death's Head Issue 4 Review

Wiccan and Billy in Death’s Head Issue 4 (Image: Marvel Comics)

Death’s Head Issue 4

Tini Howard’s 4-part Death’s Head came to a satisfying conclusion this week. I have enjoyed Howard’s take on Wiccan and Hulkling’s relationship. She gets those two. I can’t wait to see what she has in store for them in Strikeforce. The art by Kei Zama might come across as a bit weird to some, but I liked it, especially how Zama draws exaggerated facial expressions.

Recommendation: Fans of Wiccan and Hulkling should pick it up!

Excalibur Issue 1 Review

Excalibur Issue 1 (Image: Marvel Comics)

Excalibur Issue 1

Talking about Howard, she joined the ‘Dawn of X’ comic book line with Excalibur Issue 1. The core of this series is set to explore the relationship between magic and mutants. Now, I don’t know if the fact I ended up enjoying Marauders Issue 1 way too much had anything to do with it, but I didn’t have fun going through Excalibur Issue 1. Maybe my expectations were too high?

The way the current team came together didn’t make any sense to me. Wouldn’t you want to have a whole lot of magic-using mutants in your team if you’re getting ready to fight a powerful Sorceress? Anyway, I’m willing to give this book a few more issues because I like Howard as a writer. Let’s see what happens.

Recommendation: Maybe you’ll like Excalibur Issue 1 more than I did?

Invisible Woman Issue 4 Review

Invisible Woman issue 4 (Image: Marvel Comics)

Invisible Woman Issue 4

The only reason I’m reading this book is because I’m a fan of the titular character. I liked how writer Mark Waid gave us the scientific explanation behind Sue’s eyesight and powers. The art by Mattia De Iulis is great. The fourth issue offered certain answers while raising more questions. In my opinion, the overall story isn’t bad, but it’s just not interesting enough to appeal to a wider audience.

Recommendation: Pick it up if you’re a fan of Sue Storm and espionage.

Marvel Zombies Resurrection 1 Review

Marvel Zombies: Resurrection Issue 1 (Image: Marvel Comics)

Marvel Zombies: Resurrection Issue 1

The Marvel Zombies are back! This debut seems to be working with a new viral strain and I’m here for the ride. Writer Philip Kennedy Johnson seems to have a plan and I want to know what it is. He’s able to keep an impressively tense pace throughout the story which made me kind of nervous to see what was going to happen as I moved to the next page. The art by Leonard Kirk is great.

Recommendation: PICK IT UP!

Runaways Issue 26 Review

Runaways Issue 26 (Image: Marvel Comics)

Runaways Issue 26

Even though I’m not a fan of the Runaways team, I still find myself continuing to read this series. It has a certain amount of charm to it, courtesy of writer Rainbow Rowell. The pencils by Andres Genolet and the colors by Dee Cunniffe complement the story. This week’s issue had the team working together with Doc Justice. I don’t trust Doc Justice, though. So, I want to know what will transpire next.

Recommendation: You should give this series a try.

Mighty Morphin Power Rangers Issue 44 Review

Mighty Morphin Power Rangers Issue 44 (Image: BOOM! Studios)

Mighty Morphin Power Rangers Issue 44

MMPR has to be one of the best comic book series I’m currently reading. The moment you think it can’t get any better, the newest issue proves you wrong. This week’s installment, by writer Ryan Parrott, showcased the abilities of the Omega Rangers. It seems they have a plan to stop Lord Zedd once and for all. But will it work? The art by Daniele Di Nicuolo and the colors by Walter Baiamonte seamlessly help the panels transition from the action pieces to the comedic as well as the darker moments when required by the narrative.

Recommendation: PICK IT UP!

Monster Planet Issue 1 Review

Monster Planet Issue 1 (Image: Zenescope Entertainment)

Monster Planet Issue 1

I don’t know why I decided to read this new series. The premise, from my understanding, has to do with a virus that transformed a majority of intelligent life on Earth into monsters. The human race is near extinction. Not only that, it turns out, similar to humans, actual supernatural beings aren’t happy about the existence of numerous virus-made monsters either. The debut issue dealt with the humans reaching out to some very old vampires for help. It kind of reminded me of DC Comics’ Scooby Apocalypse. Seriously, if you haven’t read Scooby Apocalypse yet, please do. It’s great. Unfortunately, I can’t say the same for Monster Planet Issue 1.

Recommendation: Maybe it will get better with time?

So, that’s my review round-up of the comic book I read this week. Which ones did you pick up? Did you enjoy Black Panther Issue 17? What did you think of Excalibur Issue 1? Let me know!

Author: Farid-ul-Haq

Farid has a Double Masters in Psychology and Biotechnology as well as an M.Phil in Molecular Genetics. He is the author of numerous books including Missing in Somerville, and The Game Master of Somerville. He gives us insight into comics, books, TV shows, anime/manga, video games, and movies.


-

*Read our policies before commenting.*

Please do not copy our content in whole to other websites. Linkbacks are encouraged.