Marvel’s “Jessica Jones: Playing with Fire” Launching on Serial Box May 28!

Jessica Jones Playing With Fire Serial Box
Marvel’s Jessica Jones: Playing With Fire (Image: PR)

Fans of Jessica Jones have new content to look forward to. Marvel’s Jessica Jones: Playing with Fire is a 16-episode story you will be able to read or listen to on your phone (and the web) come May 28, 2020.

According to the press release, the upcoming series will launch on Serial Box. It has been narrated by voice actress Fryda Wolff. The writing team is led by best-selling novelist Lauren Beukes, four-time Hugo Award-finalist Elsa Sjunneson, Zoe Quinn (Vertigo’s Goddess Mode), Vita Ayala (Marvel’s Nebula; Age of X), and television writer Sam Beckbessinger.  

The official description reads:

In the series launching on Serial Box, Jessica Jones has made an art of ignoring her particular brand of super-powered trauma. But these days, she’s giving the whole “self-care” thing a try. Seeing a therapist, finding healthier coping mechanisms (read: no business-hours drinking), working toward not wanting to punch things all the time. Maybe even taking the occasional case that won’t eat her alive.

A simple missing person case seems like just the ticket. But when a boy’s body turns up in what looks like a cut-and-dried OD, Jessica can’t let it go and dives headlong into an obsessive search for answers.

You can read the sneak peek here.

Below is the free audio preview via SoundCloud.

The first three episodes will launch on Thursday, May 28, 2o2o, with new episodes releasing in weekly installments thereafter. The full season (16 episodes) will be available for $9.99.

Marvel’s Jessica Jones: Playing With Fire will be available exclusively on the Serial Box apps present on Google Play and the Apple App Store, and through the Serial Box website.

Take note; Marvel’s Jessica Jones: Playing With Fire is the third Marvel title to launch on Serial Box. Marvel’s Thor: Metal Gods and Marvel’s Black Widow: Bad Blood are currently available to listen to or read.

For those who don’t know, Serial Box (official website) delivers premium audio and reading entertainment for an on-the-go audience that loves immersive storytelling. Serial Box’s best-selling titles include Ninth Step Station, Orphan Black: The Next Chapter, and The Vela.

Based in New York, the company was founded by Molly Barton and Julian Yap. You can follow Serial Box on Twitter, Instagram, and Facebook.

Feel free to share your thoughts with us.

Author: Farid-ul-Haq

Farid has a Double Masters in Psychology and Biotechnology as well as an M.Phil in Molecular Genetics. He is the author of numerous books including Missing in Somerville, and The Game Master of Somerville. He gives us insight into comics, books, TV shows, anime/manga, video games, and movies.

Help support independent journalism. Subscribe to our Patreon.

Copyright © The Geekiary

Do not copy our content in whole to other websites. If you are reading this anywhere besides, it has been stolen.
Read our policies before commenting. Be kind to each other.