SubZero is Coming to Print Thanks to Oni Press

Oni Press announced yesterday that they will be bringing the Webtoon smash hit SubZero to print! With over three million subscribers (including me!) and more than 375 million reads, the romance fantasy (or romantasy) will hit stores in September of this year. SubZero Volume 1 will collect chapters 0-25 and include “all-new, never-before-published back matter material”.

SubZero by Junepurrr is one of my favorite Webtoons. It’s enemies to lovers in an arranged marriage, and there are dragons. Basically, it ticks a lot of boxes on my list of things I love to read. The art is bright and colorful and I love the character dynamics. You may remember that I’ve featured this series before on our semi-not-really-weekly Wednesday Webcomics. I am beyond excited that this is coming to print.

SubZero is a love letter to fantasy stories, palace dramas and romance, created as an escape during a very low period in my life,” said Junepurrr. “While the characters possess fantastical Dragon powers, the story deals with themes of duty, sacrifice, and the true strength that lies beneath a veil of fangs and scales. It is my greatest hope that readers of SubZero will find the escape and excitement I felt when I created it.”

“Dragons, love triangles, danger, and magic combine in this action-packed romance fantasy graphic novel,” said Oni Press Senior Editor Grace Scheipeter. “SubZero is the perfect graphic novel for fans of Lore Olympus, Fourth Wing, A Court of Thorns and Roses, and My Dear Cold-Blooded King. Kyro and Clove’s enemies-to-lovers romance edges on steamy in this first volume, with more romantic tension and encounters to come!”

SubZero is just the latest in a long string of Webtoons that have made the jump to print. Pretty soon I won’t be able to afford to keep up with them all! I’m already buying Heartstopper, Lore Olympusand Let’s Play, and soon I’ll be able to pick up Nothing Special as well. What’s great is that a print run has the potential to increase the audience and means that we could possibly get merchandise so I can spend even more of my money.

Author: Jamie Sugah

Jamie has a BA in English with a focus in creative writing from The Ohio State University. She self-published her first novel, The Perils of Long Hair on a Windy Day, which is available through Amazon. She is currently an archivist and lives in New York City with her demon ninja vampire cat. She covers television, books, movies, anime, and conventions in the NYC area.


-

Read our policies before commenting.
Do not copy our content in whole to other websites. Linkbacks are encouraged.
Copyright © The Geekiary


Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.